Monthly City Council Meeting 26/06/2017

COMHAIRLE CATHRACH BHAILE ÁTHA CLIATH



Miontuairiscí Chruinniú Cinn Bliantúil a tionóladh ar 26 Meitheamh 2017 i Seomra na Comhairle, Halla na Cathrach, Cnoc Chorcaí ag 6.15 i.n,i láthair an tArdmhéara sa chathaoir

Comhairleoir:

Declan Flanagan

Mannix Flynn

Mary Freehill

Gary Gannon

Paul Hand

Greg Kelly

John Lyons

Alison Gilliland

Deirdre Henev

Vincent Jackson

Andrew Keegan

Frank Kennedy

Mícheál Mac Donncha

Dermot Lacev

Ray McAdam

Paul McAuliffe

Paddy McCartan

Séamas McGrattan

Jane Horgan-Jones

. Comhairleoir:

Chris Andrews Kieran Binchy Paddy Bourke Janice Boylan Tom Brabazon Christy Burke Claire Byrne Cathleen Carney Boud Brendan Carr Aine Clancy Anthony Connaghan David Costello Patrick Costello Ciáran Cuffe Daithí De Róiste Daithí Doolan Pat Dunne Gaye Fagan Anne Feeney

<u>Oifigigh</u>

Owen Keegan Brendan Kenny Dick Brady Declan Wallace Richard Shakespeare Terence O'Keeffe Oonagh Casey

Comhairleoir:

Rav McHugh Sean Paul Mahon Edel Moran Andrew Montague Michael Mullooly Rebecca Moynihan Emma Murphy Críona Ní Dhálaigh Michael O'Brien Claire O'Connor Damian O'Farrell Ciáran O'Moore Naoise Ó Muirí Larry O'Toole Cieran Perry Noeleen Reilly Nial Ring Éilis Ryan Norma Sammon Paddy Smyth

Deirdre Ni Raghallaigh Derek Fox Fanchea Gibson

1. Lord Mayor Brendan Carr opened the Annual Meeting of the City Council by detailing the high-lights of his year in office especially those he was most proud of, including his stance on housing and homelessness, his promotion of various charities and his encouragement to the citizens of Dublin to resume contributions to charitable organisations which had been a special project of the Lord Mayor and the Mansion House over the previous Christmas period. He thanked everyone who had helped him in any way during his year as Lord Mayor of Dublin including the staff of the Mansion House and the Chief Executive's Office and especially his wife, Suzanne and his son, Jason, who he presented with a plaque in honour of the occasion. Many tributes were paid to the outgoing Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor and they were both congratulated on the success of their year in office. Many Councillors wished to be associated with the good wishes and appreciation of both outgoing and future Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor.

2. It was then moved by Cllr. C Ni Dhálaigh and seconded by Cllr. D Lacey "That Councillor Micheáll Mac Donncha is proposed for the office of Lord Mayor of the City of Dublin for the period from 26^h June, 2017 to continue in such office (subject to his death, resignation, disqualification, removal from office or otherwise ceasing to be a member of the City Council) until his successor shall have been elected at the Annual Meeting of the City Council on 25th June 2018"

It was then moved by ClIr. K Binchy and seconded by ClIr. A Feeney "That Councillor Paddy McCartan is proposed for the office of Lord Mayor of the City of Dublin for the period from 26^h June, 2016 to continue in such office (subject to his death, resignation, disqualification, removal from office or otherwise ceasing to be a member of the City Council) until his successor shall have been elected at the Annual Meeting of the City Council on 25th June 2018"

It was then moved by ClIr. P Dunne and seconded by ClIr. A Keegan "That Councillor E Ryan is proposed for the office of Lord Mayor of the City of Dublin for the period from 26^h June, 2017 to continue in such office (subject to her death, resignation, disqualification, removal from office or otherwise ceasing to be a member of the City Council) until her successor shall have been elected at the Annual Meeting of the City Council on 26th June 2018"

It was then moved by Cllr. C O'Connor and seconded by Cllr. P McAuliffe "That Councillor Tom Brabazon is proposed for the office of Lord Mayor of the City of Dublin for the period from 26^h June, 2017 to continue in such office (subject to his death, resignation, disqualification, removal from office or otherwise ceasing to be a member of the City Council) until his successor shall have been elected at the Annual Meeting of the City Council on 25th June 2018"

Following a vote, Councillor Micheál Mac Donncha was declared to be elected Lord Mayor and he was invested with the Collar of SS and the Insignia of Office. The Members of the City Council, Chief Executive and staff all warmly congratulated the newly elected Lord Mayor. For full details of this vote, see **Appendix A** to these minutes.

Lord Mayor Mac Donncha then took the chair and thanked fellow Councillors for their support in electing him as the Lord Mayor. He outlined his hopes and aspirations for the year ahead. Full text of his speech can be found in **Appendix B** to these minutes.

3. Lord Mayor Mac Donncha then called for nominations for the position of Deputy Lord Mayor.

It was moved by ClIr .A Montague and seconded by ClIrs M Freehill & P Bourke. "That Councillor Áine Clancy is proposed for the office of Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of Dublin for the period 26^h June 2017 to continue in such office (subject to her death, resignation, disqualification, removal from office or otherwise ceasing to be a member of the City Council) until her successor shall have been elected at the Annual Meeting of the City Council on 25th June 2018. It was moved by Cllr.T Brabazon and seconded by Cllr. D Heney "That Councillor David Costello is proposed for the office of Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of Dublin for the period 26^h June 2017 to continue in such office (subject to his death, resignation, disqualification, removal from office or otherwise ceasing to be a member of the City Council) until his successor shall have been elected at the Annual Meeting of the City Council on 25th June 2018

It was moved by Cllr. D Flanagan and seconded by Cllr. R McAdam "That Councillor Norma Sammon is proposed for the office of Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of Dublin for the period 26^h June 2017 to continue in such office (subject to her death, resignation, disqualification, removal from office or otherwise ceasing to be a member of the City Council) until her successor shall have been elected at the Annual Meeting of the City Council on 25th June 2018

Following a vote, Councillor Clancy was declared to be elected as Deputy Lord Mayor. Full details of the vote can be found in **Appendix C** to these Minutes.

The new Deputy Lord Mayor was then warmly congratulated by the Lord Mayor, Members of the City Council, Chief Executive and staff. The Deputy Lord Mayor thanked all the Members of the City Council for electing her and said she looked forward to working with the Lord Mayor, management, staff, Mansion House staff and colleagues of all political persuasions and dealing with the challenges in the city. She outlined her hopes and goals for the year ahead. Full text of her speech can be found in **Appendix D** to these Minutes

The meeting concluded at 8pm.

Correct.

LORD MAYOR

MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR